City Council



Dave Armstrong

Dennis McGinnis

Phila Storts

Council members sworn in

New members of the Belle Plaine City Council were sworn in by former Mayor Richard Penn on Monday, January 8, 2018. From left are Penn and Council members Phila Storts, Allen Hisken and Greg Harlan.

Outgoing Council members were recognized at the meeting, Jan. 8. From left are Dave Armstrong, Lacy Tedman, and Tori Bohannon.

Following the Jan. 8, 2018 meeting, Mayor Richard Penn submitted his resignation, effective immediately. He cited personal health issues and the need to care for his own father as the reasons for his resignation. Council President Rob Narron was then sworn in as Mayor, by City Clerk Linda Stinnett. 
(Thanks to the Belle Plaine News for this photo.)

New Council Member appointed

Dave Armstrong was appointed to fill the vacant Council seat at the Jan. 18 meeting. Dave previously served two terms and was best suited for the seat that was vacated when Mayor Richard Penn resigned and Council Member Rob Narron moved to the Mayor’s position, Narron said when making the appointment.